SBS have a great history in covering the Tour de France – as well they should, given they’ve been screening it in Australia for years. Cycling fans dose up on caffeine to ensure they can see all the action from all 21 stages – it’s a special event only fans can commit to. With commentators Michael Tomalaris and Phil Liggett, along with a host of cycling specialists it’s sure to be another great broadcast. Can Cadel do it again?

Included below are the broadcast schedule and a special Tour preview from host Tomalaris – from the press release:

In 2011 Cadel Evans became the first Australian to win the Tour de France. In 2012, he’ll
be looking to do it all over again.

And once again the action will be exclusively LIVE on SBS, with all 21 stages of the world’s
most famous cycling race shown live and in HD.

The 2012 Tour de France will also see Australia’s first professional cycling team, Orica-
GreenEDGE, competing in the event for the first time. Simon Gerrans, Matt Goss and
Stuart O’Grady will be racing in Orica-GreenEDGE colours, looking to secure a stage win.

SBS’s coverage will be led by award-winning cycling journalist Michael Tomalaris, in his
17th year hosting the Tour de France. He will be joined by former professional cyclist and
SBS Cycling Analyst David McKenzie and former professional road cyclist and track
cycling world champion Kate Bates.

Calling the race will be ‘international voice of cycling’ Phil Liggett, cycling veteran Paul
Sherwen and Australia’s Matt Keenan.

SBS will provide comprehensive round-the-clock coverage online at with race results, news, videos, expert blogs and the interactive tour tracker.

The Tour de France will be live from 30 June to 22 July 2012 at 10pm on SBS ONE, with
morning updates and daily highlights.